Why I Write and all that jazz

An acquaintance recently asked me, “Why do you write?”

I gave him the usual answer: “Because I must.”

Ever wonder what Stephen King’s answer would be? I think the guy would be a nut case if he hadn’t been able to write. He’d be sitting in a rubber room, drooling and counting his toes. Writing kept him sane, or that’s my belief. Or maybe it kept him from being a serial killer. Or a psychotic crazy who turned people into lampshades, like Ed Gein.

So while that answer is true, it’s not all of it. Why do I write? Here are some of the reasons:

* Because it lets me live all the lives I never can.

* Because it allows me to be many people. Male, female, and everything in between, I can be them all.

* Because I can live anywhere I like, with anyone I wish to, and if I insist, I will be happy. The villa in Tuscany I can’t afford in RL? Done! The road trip to California on motorcycles with the man of my dreams? Done! Treasure hunting off the coast of Baja while mercenaries track my every move? Done!

* Because real life often sucks and writing lets me escape it. There are no unpaid bills or unexpected illnesses if I don’t want them there.

Writing is the gateway to everything I will never experience firsthand. I can climb Mount Everest, mine for opals in Australia, or find an undiscovered tribe in the rain forest. When I write, I am a god. Everyone dances to my tune, and I play so sweetly, the stars themselves pause to listen.

That’s why I write.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I Write and all that jazz

  1. AJ Rose says:

    Feeling poetic this morning?

    *googles nearest Harley dealership for that road trip, because FUCK YES*

    • That does sound good, doesn’t it?

      I feel almost sorry for people who can’t write. They miss out on so much. They get only one life. I can have as many as I have time for. :)

  2. Nobody says:

    we don´t necessarily have to write to Be the persons we can´t in RL.
    to get my dose of that, i READ. i read a lot, on the bus towards work, on my trips, i listen to audiobooks while i lick pages and pages of numbers at work, and so on.

    and it´s soooo good, to have my dream life laid out like that for me, and all i have do is flip the ( virtual ) page.

    i tried writing, but my hand can´t keep up with my thoughts. gave it up.
    i am in awe of what u guys ( authors ) do.

    many kisses to u and AJ.
    and please make me dream some more!

    • :) We’re working hard on that. Three of Swords comes out 9/1. AJ’s Power Exchange is in beta and will be released in the next few weeks. If only I didn’t have to work for a living! :)

Leave a Reply

