A Dog’s Life and a Film Rec

Yesterday was hard on me. Actually, last week was difficult. Too much to do, not enough time to do it, and feeling frustrated by it all.

Last night, I closed the laptop and watched a movie: Water for Elephants. I’d never heard of it before finding it on Netflix. I used to know every upcoming film release, and now, I’m so far out of the loop, I have to find movies by accident. Pattinson¬†acquitted¬†himself well in this one; perhaps he will outlast his Twilight rep as a mindless idiot. Witherspoon was as she always is, pretty and watchable. The star of the movie, however, was an elephant named Tai (called Rosie in the film). I warn you, there are scenes of animal abuse that made my stomach turn, even though the director carefully had most of it happen off-screen. And of course, Tai was not really hurt, but her eyes! Oh, gawd, her eyes were so filled with emotion, I couldn’t look away. I recommend this one, especially as there is a happy ending… too happy, if you ask me, but I’ll forgive the director because I really needed that perfect ending last night.

A friend of mine got a white German Shepherd pup and I took pics as she grew up. Here are two of my favorites.

 

She was older in this one and curious about the water. I wonder what dogs see? I know they smell something like twenty thousand times better than humans, but no one seems quite sure how their eyes work. Do they see in color, or just in shades of gray?

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, suggestion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

