Online Shopping Debacle

It happened a couple months ago. I was thinking it was time to try a new cell phone service and ran across Cricket online. It was so cool! No contract, no obligation, and someone was available to chat with me and answer all my questions.

That was the last time things were cool.

The phone arrived and I had to register it online. When I tried to do so, I was informed the serial number had already been registered. Really? Huh. I figured I could straighten this out with a quick call or email… except there was no way to email them without registering on the site first. I didn’t want to register! I just wanted to shoot them an email about my problem!

Next I called the only number I could find on the site. A male robot picked up. I decided to call him Roger. He offered me the standard phone tree, except there was no option to talk to a human. Annoyed, I pushed zero, figuring I’d get a customer rep then.

Ha! I underestimated the deviousness of this phone tree. Roger said, “I’m sorry, we can’t help you at this time.” And hung up!

I called back, I listened to Roger give me all the options again, and again there was no number choice to speak to a person. Angrily, I pushed zero again. Roger politely informed me he couldn’t help me and hung up.

Well, that’s an interesting way to avoid paying for a customer service department. I returned to the web site, anxiously looking for the chat link. Guess what? Wasn’t there. How strange is that!

I’d been told I could return the phone for a full refund if I did so within thirty days. I packed up that shit and went to the post office and paid lots of money to ship it back. I made sure it went to the right address.

Then I called my credit card company and disputed the charge, which was around $75. They seemed sure there would be no problem. Famous last words. Although the charge was reversed on the next statement, I was asked to send a letter detailing my experience. I did so, figuring this would be the last of it.

A few weeks passed. I got my new card statement yesterday. Cricket had whacked me $38 for a service I’d never used and I phone I no longer had. I hadn’t even signed up for automatic payment! I’d refused for just this reason.

Furious, I contacted the card company. They disputed the charge at my request. I asked them how I could stop them from charging me again, since I’d had no luck reaching anyone living in that company. He said he could send me a card with new numbers. Yeah, okay, do that! That would stop ‘em!

In the meantime, I called the phone number listed on the statement next to that charge and was put on endless hold. No one ever spoke to me. Another great way to avoid dealing with customers: leaving them in Hold Hell forever.

So, my advice to anyone tempted to try Cricket… DON’T. They’re awful. If you can’t talk to a person, you can’t ask questions, file a complaint, or quit. They’ve got you by the balls.

When my new card comes, I’ll have to change the numbers everywhere I use it automatically. What a huge pain in the ass. *growls* Cricket, you SUCK and I’ll be sure to tell everyone I know.

 

 

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Online Shopping Debacle

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    Yep. That’s why they’re cheap. Tho here we actually have a Cricket store with presumably live people. My friend Richard has used Cricket for years. The service is much more limited than my Verizon, but I pay a whole lot more. It is really true that you get what you pay for.
    While the official stats say we don’t have inflation, we do. The same price now gets you less service, less product.

    • I know! That’s why I was tempted to try a new service. You’re right, though, Cricket’s coverage area is limited. Wouldn’t work for me in the long run, and if they’re hitting me with $38 charge every month, hell, that’s only $8 less than what I pay for Verizon.

      The cell companies have us over a barrel. Remember land lines? As cheap as $15 a month. What charges do cell companies incur once the towers are up? NONE. They just keep raking in the money as they screw us.

  2. I have a cricket phone.. I feel your pain.. I go through a cricket Dealer though and its prepaid i by my time from wal-mart… I love the unlimited text, web and data.. I dont actually talk much on mine lol

    • I’m glad your experience with them is good. When I try to communicate with the caretakers at a building a couple miles away, it’s god-awful trying to understand them and the calls are dropped a lot. I’m smack in the middle of the city and Cricket’s service is hit or miss. Not good.

Leave a Reply

