Photo Mix Sunday

Remember to click on the picture to see full size. Let’s start with a very cool looking dead tree. I remember reading a story long ago where the lovers would leave each other notes in a tree. The hole in this one is just about the right size and height. 

 

I was walking Suki in the small patch of woods across the street from where I live when we turned a corner on the trail and spotted these two. Fortunately, I had my camera and Suki was behind me. Of course the one in the back is a robin, but I’m not sure what the dark one is in front of her.

 

I stopped in a tiny town named Martel, which boasts a wonderful trout stream. At the south end of town is a bridge. This is the view from that bridge. Five minutes after I took this picture, it started to rain.

 

On that very same bridge, I noticed a spider web, but what was amazing is there were two webs! I tried taking a picture in natural light first, but that didn’t pick up the second web, so I flipped up the flash and that worked. You can see the shadow of the second web behind the first one. Also, take a look at the tiny spider! Hard to believe something that small could create something so large and complex.

 

This damselfly was flitting around in the weeds beside the stream. It let me get quite close with the lens, which was set on macro. It’s a male. You can tell by the pincers in its tail.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photo Mix Sunday

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    Wow! Especially the 3rd. It looks so lush I want to become an herbivore and roll around in it!

  2. A.M.B. says:

    I love the spider web (but hate spiders!).

  3. Suze says:

    Love the river shot – tramquility personified!

Leave a Reply

