Phoenix Rising Gets Reviewed: Does it Matter?

Jessewave is one of the biggest m/m review sites online. Getting reviewed there is awesome. Getting a good review there is like winning a literary lottery.

Wave gave me a good review. I felt all kinds of things after reading it: pleased, grateful, amazed, and most definitely, thankful. I’m happy Wave read and liked the book enough to recommend it. When she speaks, people listen.

How important are reviews to a new release? Depends who you ask. Some writers say it makes very little difference. Others say reviews can make or break the book. Still others say even bad reviews can sell copies.

I’ve had one really wretched review. It was for Numbers and the person gave it an F. I remember wondering if she was talking about something I wrote, because her remarks didn’t seem to apply to it. Whether or not that impacted sales, I’ll never know, but my guess is a bad review is detrimental to sales. Controversy around a book is far better at generating interest. People want to see what all the fuss is about and will buy a copy for that reason alone, but a bad review, in my opinion, hurts sales. I wouldn’t purchase a book if reviews said it sucked, would you?

Mostly, I try not to pay much attention to reviews, but I’ll admit to feeling a special thrill when someone really likes something I’ve written. It’s the kind of validation that cannot be bought, because reviewers are readers first, and pleasing readers is the reason we publish our scribbling.

__________

Changing the subject now. :) I spent all day with my boss at one of his buildings. We were readying a newly-vacant apartment for rental. He pulled out carpet while I carried it downstairs to the dumpster. I removed electrical plates and he replaced the guts. I fixed the toilet and spackled the holes in the wall while he tested circuits. It was a productive day, but we’re both shot to hell. Seems we both got up far too early this morning, and we’ll both be going to bed as soon as it sounds reasonable.

Had dinner in Wisconsin tonight with Dan, Irene, Mom, and some of their friends. The weather was perfect! I took the scooter out for a ride… and got something in my eye. Strangely enough, I’ve been thinking about getting goggles for a while now, and this incident convinced me I should.

I dunked my eye in a bowl of water and blinked a lot. Then I placed the eye next to a running faucet and splashed a lot. Both those things were recommended to me. My eye still hurt. Dan said, “It’s probably gone but you have a slight abrasion. It’ll be better in the morning.”

Yet another good reason to get to bed early tonight. I’m spending the night in WI and driving back to St Paul in the morning.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Phoenix Rising Gets Reviewed: Does it Matter?

  1. AJ Rose says:

    Reviews matter when it’s Jessewave.

    Hope you had fun last night.

    • It was pretty good. Too bad you were working.

      Grilled corn in their greenery… what do you call that stuff? The silk had been removed but everything else was there. Delicious! I wonder why people eat it that way though, as I could tell this morning it isn’t digested well. LOL

      Forgot my camera but the scooter ride was great up until The Thing got in my eye, forcing me to go home early. May go out again tonight. Haven’t decided yet.

      However, getting back early meant I got to partake in dessert, which was chocolate ice cream, strawberries, blueberries and Drambuie. So good!

      Everyone missed you.

      • AJ Rose says:

        The stalk. The corn greens are called the stalk.

        Work was meh. I’m thinking I need a mental health day soon.

        Maybe next time, I’lll be able to go. Glad you had a good time and your eye’s better. :)

      • I thought the stalk was called the stalk.

        Ha! Looked it up. It’s the husk! The green stuff around the corn is a husk. I used to know that. Are my brain cells dying already?

      • AJ Rose says:

        Duh, I should have known that.

Leave a Reply

