It’s For the Birds

Today’s photography subject is birds. I’ve taken lots of pictures of them over the years. These are only a few of my favorites. Click on each picture to see full-size.

House Finch. Taken at a friend’s house. I sat in a chair in the sun for a couple hours, taking pictures. Birds are a suspicious lot, but if you stay there, they get used to you.

Hairy Woodpecker. Taken at same location. I was about six feet from the feeders.

Female Goldfinch. Can’t remember where I took this but the detail is extraordinary, don’t you think? Look at the beak and the area under the eye.

Female Hummingbird. They are gorgeous creatures! She’s one of many photos I took that day, and one of the few not using a flash (to freeze their wings). I was inside a friend’s living room. His feeder hung just outside the window. I made him clean the window. :) Then I set up my tripod and kept my finger on the shutter for four freaking hours, taking shot after shot after shot. Out of hundreds of photos, I got only a handful of good ones. ┬áHere’s a tip: put tape over the feeder holes you can’t see to force them to use the ones in sight of your camera. Then set up and don’t move much. Movement makes them dart away.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s For the Birds

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    Superb!!! Have you ever considered selling your work, say to a stock photo house? It is exquisite!

    • I have! Unfortunately, there is only so much time in the day and right now, work and writing sucks up 99% of it.

      I probably should get better organized, so I make time for all my interests. :)

  2. A.M.B. says:

    Great pictures! Goldfinches are among my favorite birds. Oh how I wish the females were as beautiful as the males! Winter is the “great equalizer” for this species in terms of appearance.

Leave a Reply

