Photo Saturday and One Brief Grumble

Does it hurt when friends don’t buy your books? Yes, but most of the time, you shrug it off because you know not everyone is going to like the story you have to tell.

But when the friend is an ex-lover with whom you’re still in touch at least weekly by phone? That cuts deep. No, I’m not talking about JJ. This is someone else, someone in my distant past. We’ve been friends for years, but he’s never purchased one of my books. I’ve even offered to give him one, so he can see what I write, but he’s not interested. That shows a distinct lack of support, if you ask me.

And now, on to the photos…

Out on the back roads yesterday afternoon, I came across this pair. As you can see by the spots, they’re still babies and curious about their new world. Poor things are being bothered terribly by flies; you can see them clearly. They stared at me, I stared at them. In Photoshop, I added the vignette and used a non-destructive process to dodge and burn their faces and ears to bring out detail and definition.

This gorgeously colored dragonfly was sitting on a branch hanging over what was left of a small pool of water. The recent long stretch of temps in the 90s have been hard on wildlife (if you live in a rural area, put out pans of water for the creatures; they’ll thank you!). This area is a refuge but there were no ducks and the birds were scarce, all because of the lack of water.

To get this shot, I hung off a bridge abutment. Occasionally, he would fly into the air, but always he returned to this branch. They often do that; keep it in mind if you want to photograph them. In Photosohop, adjusted curves (I always do that first thing!), ran it through one of my favorite Topaz filters, and then removed excess noise.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photo Saturday and One Brief Grumble

  1. W. Lotus says:

    That dragonfly is BRILLIANT, especially knowing the things you did to bring out the details.

    • Soon, I’ll have to post another before/after. I love those, don’t you? It’s so much fun to see how easily photos can be improved, and in a relatively short time.

      I’ll add that I took ten or twelve photos of this guy and only got two worth keeping. I love digital! No way could I afford to do that if I was still using film.

      • W. Lotus says:

        Before/Afters are interesting, especially when the person describes what they did.

        Today I found there are Lightroom Presets (some free, some for purchase) I can use while editing my photos. I’m going to explore the free site and experiment with those. Then later, when I have the money and have found presets for purchase that I like, I’ll buy some.

      • I wish I had more time to play, but writing and work take up a lot of time. It’s a shame, but I do keep my hand in!

Leave a Reply

