Phoenix Rising Arriving Tomorrow

This is a good story. Artemis Gregory and his partner, Rachel Wayland, connect with Talis Kehk, charismatic, enigmatic lead singer for the group, Phoenix Rising.

There’s an interesting story around this book. I started writing it late last year. The idea enthused me, made me slightly crazy. It was so unexpected, so original… I couldn’t wait to write it.

About a third of the way in, I hit a wall. Something was wrong. An important element of the plot was missing. I struggled, flailed, worried over it like a dog with a bone, and ended up setting it aside. I thought it was dead in the water. I knew I couldn’t continue writing until I solved the discrepancy.

I started The Blue Paradise just to be writing something. It sucked me in and I was content.

My next story usually shows up as I’m finishing the current WIP. This time, it wasn’t the next idea, it was a solution to the problem of Phoenix. I knew how to continue the story, and so I did. The answer was simple and elegant and fit perfectly. I’m amazed I didn’t spot it earlier.

Phoenix is special to me. It represents rebirth in a very real way, because until the plot problem was solved, the story was worthless.

It turned out so much better than I hoped! Be sure and let me know what you think of it.

Dreamspinner is releasing it on the eleventh.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Phoenix Rising Arriving Tomorrow

  1. AJ Rose says:

    Prepares the champagne.

Leave a Reply

