Saturday Roundup

Suki is sick. If you’re new to this blog, Suki’s my 4.5 lb dog. Her insides are fragile. Once in a while, they forget how to work correctly. I have to carry her outside because she might not make it all the way otherwise, and inside, she has her tray with pads. Poor baby.

That being said, I wish to hell she’d get better. Nothing worse than a dog with diarrhea. I’m giving her Pepto via an eyedropper. The vet okayed it. Usually, it works quickly. Not so, this time. *sigh*

***

Catch and release. What’s up with that? I’ve participated in this barbaric practice in the past but I refuse to do it anymore. Either I eat the fish I catch or I don’t fish. Ever see their eyes when you’re digging the hook out of their mouth? Terrified! Freaked!

Apparently there’s some dispute as to whether or not a fish feels pain. I say, on a planet were every living thingĀ does feel pain, so do fish. Think about it. Everything ingests, everything excretes waste, everything is born in some way and eventually dies. To ask if fish feel pain seems awfully self-centered to me, and to insist they don’t is convenient for the fishermen who say it’s okay to catch and release.

***

Yesterday, I began the day prepared to edit, as usual. I have set a daily weekday goal in order to make enough money to pay the bills. Depending on what shape the manuscript is in, I can make that goal in as little as four hours. Sometimes it takes me eight or nine. Occasionally, it takes me much longer. (Do you write? Do you want to be published? Then please have someone else read your manuscript before you submit it. It’s called using a beta, and their eyes are invaluable for spotting things you missed, stuff you left out, plot inconsistencies… No one’s writing is perfect, fresh out of your brain, so get over yourself and edit edit edit so I won’t have to work so hard!)

But I’d awakened with my mind buzzing over the WIP, and all I wanted to do was write! AJ helped convince me it was okay to set aside the editing and work on my story. So I did, and I wrote all day, taking few breaks. Mid-afternoon, I needed a quick nap, but I refused to indulge and kept on writing.

Last night around 9:30, I realized I might have shot past the end of the book and started #2, so I stopped after having gotten down 4500 words. That’s a record for me. Unlike AJ, when he’s on a tear, I don’t usually experience a flood of words like that. It’s likely this record will stand a long time. ;/

Today, I have to do the work I didn’t do yesterday. Tomorrow, I’m going to start editing and hope what I got last night isn’t complete crap.

What does that say about me? That when I write that much in that short a time, I instantly wonder if it’s any good?

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday Roundup

  1. wlotus says:

    I hope Suki starts feeling better, soon, poor thing. It was always distressing when one of our fur babies got sick.

Leave a Reply

