Photography: Fences, Part 1

Last time I was in Wisconsin, I’d given myself the task of photographing fences. It was supposed to be sunny and 84. It was 69 and overcast, and while I was out riding around, it started to rain. Still, I get some shots.

Fences are interesting. They keep things in, they keep things out, but always they are a barrier of some kind. My favorite is wattle fencing. One day, I hope to be in a place where I can construct one. I have yet to spot one on my travels.

I know a tree will grow around wire, nails, horseshoes, or pretty much anything people have stuck on or in it. But this was a fence post. It’s not alive as far as I can tell; no shoots springing out of its top. But it seems to have grown around the barbed wire. I was so tempted to draw a face on it. I canĀ see the eyes on this thing.

It wasn’t raining yet when I grabbed this shot. I liked the broken posts, with the cows and hills beyond.

This is a field gate. It’s there to keep ATVs from racing around, cutting up the ground, but it was open, so maybe the farmer was planning to visit that day.

Tomorrow, Fences, Part 2.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photography: Fences, Part 1

  1. Your photography is stunning! I especially like the first photo of the post (right?)—it looks like it’s smiling!
    Eleanor

  2. W. Lotus says:

    It looks like the fence post is saying, “Om, nom, nom, nom…”

Leave a Reply

