Win a Copy of The Blue Paradise!

Go here to comment and maybe win a copy. It’s that easy! I know you can comment. I’ve seen you do it. ;/

Contest ends 6/19/12.

And now for photos… 

My last night house sitting, I visited a friend of the family that lives 18 miles away. I took the scooter, not the car. It was around seven, and it stays light past nine so I figured I’d be okay. Max speed is 35-40 mph, and no, I don’t wear a helmet and I should, so don’t start. Instead, I wear headphones and listen to music. The camera hangs from a hook inside the front column (it’s not there now because I’m using it!). Here’s what it looks like:

This pic was taken at the friend’s house. We were sitting with his neighbor. They drank, I stalked the weeds for critters. Here’s one:

When I spotted the following damselfly, I almost shit myself. Why? Because I have never seen a reflective damselfly before. That white area on his back and down along the tail? NEW. I think I saw a completely new ‘type’ that night. It was getting dark, too, so I had to employ the flash, which I constantly adjusted because if it was too bright, the damselfly blew out. This was the best shot I got, and it’s not great, but oh, he’s so pretty! His eyes, which you can’t tell from this picture thanks to the flash, were yellow. Gorgeous specimen. Hope I see him again.

And finally, here’s a shot from the picnic table at the far side of the pond. Sun was getting low and I had to jump on that scooter and head home pronto! Riding in full dark is dangerous. As it was, a deer crossed the road ahead of me on a highway. Everyone on both sides slowed, because we all know, if you see one deer, there will almost always be more. This night, just the one, however.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Win a Copy of The Blue Paradise!

  1. AJ Rose says:

    *bites tongue on same old helmet argument, while recognizing the passive-aggressiveness of this non-comment since I’m biting my tongue but you’re still reading this*

    Nice bug. You know what’s more fun? Watching your face when you see these bugs. THAT’S the real picture.

    • Too bad you were working that night. Yeah, I had that look as I peered into the weeds. The guys were amused, but they also enjoyed looking at the photos. Also, I got permission from the neighbor’s neighbor to walk his property, too, whenever I’m over there. As he owns forty acres, that’s a lot of ground to cover!

      • AJ Rose says:

        Be glad I wasn’t there. I’d have bungled up your picture-taking by jumping you. Instinct when you get that look…

      • Heh. Wood ticks, remember? Jump me inside instead.

        I’ve finally trained Suki to stand still when I say, “Wait!” so she doesn’t scare away what I’m trying to get pictures of. She doesn’t understand why she has to remain quiet until I release her (“Ok!”), but she does it anyway. Dogs are so smart.

  2. Chris says:

    Thanks for the mention!! :)
    Very cool photos, too.

  3. I’ve been informed by a friend who sent me photos that the unnamed damselfly is a powdered dancer. They’ve been seen in Ontario. Guess they’re heading south. :)

  4. You’re an amazing photographer, Fen! :)

  5. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

