Release Date for The Blue Paradise: June 20

I’ve been waiting for this one to come out. It’s the longest story I’ve written so far, and believe it or not, it started out as a short story. Two guys meet in the Florida Keys, have a short fling, and go their separate ways.

I wrote it a few years ago. It was nice. The location rocked and the dialog was good. There was the promise of them getting together again, so it was a HFN (happy for now).

And then I started rewriting, and before I knew it, the characters hijacked the computer and started adding to the story. And adding to it and adding to it until it turned into a novella, and it totally went in an unexpected direction, which pleased me very much. As the writer, I’m thrilled when the characters tell the story because I get really involved and can’t wait to see what happens next. When I read the galley for this one, I almost forgot to look for problems because I got sucked right back into the story again. 

I submitted it (after the usual round of edits and betaing), it was accepted, and now it’s going to be released! And look at that pretty cover. This is the first cover on one of my stories I’ve liked. A lot. Because it makes me want to be there, lay in the sand, and enjoy the tropical warmth. It tells me where the story is set, and it promises to entertain and engage me.

The Blue Paradise is a romance. It’s a love story. It’s a thriller. In other words, you’re gonna like it. :)

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Release Date for The Blue Paradise: June 20

  1. Isa says:

    Can’t wait to read this one. I’ll add it to my wish list. I’ve been reading your posts for awhile and I really like your blog. Sometimes I think you and AJ should just write your blogs as a story. I have a couple suggestions regarding a previous post about promoting your work since you have a new one coming out. In this post you mention a release date for your new book but you don’t mention where it’s being published. Nor do you link to the excerpt that you had posted previously. I had to do a search because I could not remember what exactly the book was about. I also figured out that if I click on the picture of the book on the sidebar that it would take me to the publisher. But when I did that I left your site and had to come back because I wasn’t finished reading. Yes these are little things but I’m a person that constantly visits author’s websites to check on books they’ve written and to check out what their next book will be so I like things easy to find and organized. I would even put your short story Lavendar Rose on the sidebar. If I can read something an author has written then I will probably try their books. Now that I’m done commenting I finally see that your published works has been updated which I didn’t see earlier because I got excited about your new book. Also love the cover! I’ve been there!

    • Thanks for the suggestions! WP doesn’t offer the option of opening a new page when you click on one of the small covers in the right margin. Wish they did! Linking to the excerpt is an excellent idea. I’ll try and do that henceforth. Adding Lavender Rose to the sidebar is also a great idea. I have tagged the free reads, so if someone were to search using that tag, they should find them all. :)

      Great comment!

    • AJ Rose says:

      Isa, we’ve discussed writing a story together, but we can’t seem to get the timing right where we’re both ready to start something new at the same time. We used to write together all the time, back when we were role playing. I miss it, and I know we compliment each other’s styles. But if we were to be able to coordinate our stories, I think it would be about something a little more exciting than our lives. When we were writing together, we’d be sailing along smoothly and then Fen would throw a wrench in the plot and all hell would break loose. It was awesome and fun figuring out where to go next, but never ever just a relationship story. And as far as I know, neither of us have ever stumbled on a murder plot or met a telekinetic person or a vampire. So even if we tried to write our story, it wouldn’t be only our story for long. But thank you for the kind words!

    • I took one of your suggestions to heart and created a Free Reads page. Find it in the menu underneath the site header. Thanks, Isa!

  2. eeper says:

    I’m so happy it’s out soon. :) Also, that’s a really nice cover indeed.

    • I can’t stop looking at it…and once winter comes, I’ll want to crawl inside that cover and never come out. Heh.

      • eeper says:

        Maybe you can use some of your own photos for covers for future titles. :) If you have any that fit your or AJ’s stories, that is.

      • The photo used for Bringer of Light is mine. I took it a few years back at a snazzy little restaurant in the middle of nowhere. It was late winter, I was sitting next to a glass door, and the light pouring through created a wonderful still life. Yup, I drank that wine. It was tasty. :)

        You can see a larger version of it at Voodoo Lily Press.

  3. I would love to read a book written by both of you. And I can’t wait to read this book! :)

Leave a Reply

