Back to Normal, Whatever That Means

Lavender Rose has wrapped and I feel a peculiar letdown about that. It was great fun sharing the story with you, and I’m sorry it’s over.

I was on G+ last night, and someone posted a photo I wanted a better look at, but when I clicked on it, I got the white bar. This means the photo was censored.

I contacted the poster, who directed me to his tumbler where I grabbed the full-sized photo. Take a look at it. 

I wasn’t able to do my usual Photoshop magic on it (it’s on my desktop and I’m on the laptop), but it’s still a nice photo. But what is there about it that anyone might find objectionable? I see a nice chest, nice arms, and the genitals are strategically covered by his pants. Is there anything here that needs to be censored?

I was born overseas. I could have had dual citizenship, and when things like this happen, I wish I did because Europeans are not weird about bare flesh, not the way many here in this country are. Nude beaches, commercials that push limits… it all happens in Europe.

When are people going to get over their aversion to bodies? We each have one. Some are classically beautiful, some are less so, but we all inhabit a construct of flesh and blood and seeing it shouldn’t make people nuts.

This puritan aversion to bodies has become so pervasive in our society that we can’t even grin at a small child’s naked butt without it being attributed to perversion on our part. We are made to feel guilty about the most innocent things.

America, what is your problem?

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to Normal, Whatever That Means

  1. W. Lotus says:

    “America, what is your problem?”

    Oh gosh, where do I start?

    • Ain’t that the truth, though?!

      In the film, V for Vendetta, V takes over the emergency channel to talk about things and says at one point, “There’s something very wrong in this country, isn’t there.”

      I have the same feeling about America lately. Something is wrong, and it’s getting worse.

  2. James Lizamore says:

    Firstly Theo – thank you for “Lavender Rose” and for making it available to us free for this period. I really enjoy it, and in particular the contrasts between the two main characters. I was enjoying the story so much, that it almost felt like an abrupt ending. :)

    Secondly, I agree with you on the photograph and the attitude that some people in America have to nudity. I lived in Germany for some years, and agree that the Europeans are so much more open and accepting of the human body and even the sexuality attached to it portrayal in most modern photography.

    But then again this brings us to the question of censorship and finding a honest-to-goodness open and uncensored social network site. And will that ever exist?

    Once again, thanks.

    • You’re welcome, and I’m glad you enjoyed the story.

      An uncensored social network? I was hoping G+ would be that, but they opened the doors to children and so that will never happen. While I agree we should be mindful of young minds, I also don’t think the entire world needs to be kid-safe. Adults need places to play, too.

Leave a Reply

