That’s It, Then

JJ and I said our goodbyes last night. This morning, he got up as usual, readied for work, kissed me, and said, “See ya.”

I burst into tears the minute he closed the door. Then I walked around the apartment, pausing in every room to look at nothing before going to the next. Then the fucking movers showed up and I had to direct traffic. They promise my stuff will get to MN by the time I arrive on Thursday. 

I’m sitting on the couch (yes, that’s staying), staring at the holes in the room. You know, the places where my stuff used to be. The apartment is full of them. JJ said he’d take his stuff out of storage and fill them up.

It’ll be like I was never here.

I take my keys off the ring and leave them on the table: front and back doors, laundry room, storage room, apartment key. I look around one last time. This was a dump when I moved in, and I turned it into something beautiful. When JJ moved in, it got even better.

Goddamn it.

__________

I’ll post from the road if I find wi-fi. *closes laptop, puts it in the bag, hoists it over one shoulder, and leaves*

 

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That’s It, Then

  1. Yep.Moving out is heartbreaking… But starting all over again is inspiring. =)

Leave a Reply

