Stranger in a Strange Land and a New Release

As far as I know, The Housekeeper will be released tomorrow. Woohoo!

I got the galley last night, and spent the entire evening going over it while JJ played with Suki and watched CSI. I’m tired of that show, but he still enjoys it. I put my headphones on and listened to music instead.

I finished the proof and sent it back before going to bed. Actually, I sent back the comment sheet that accompanies the proof; I’m forgetting my Fair Witness training! If you don’t know what that means, read Stranger in a Strange Land, which happens to be one of my favorite books even though Jubal is incredibly sexist toward his ladies. Michael Valentine Smith alone is worth the time you spend reading this. At the time it was written, many of the ideas put forth in the book were considered shocking. Actually, some of them still are. I won’t mention any more because I don’t want to post spoilers.

Just read the book if you haven’t already, and read the first published version, not that extended “writer’s cut” because that version truly sucked. I managed to slog my way through it once and will most likely never attempt it again. These two version of the same novel are a perfect example of how editors make stories better. I was able to compare them and see that yes, the first, tightly edited version is incredible while the second, which apparently included all the crap the editor took out, is nearly unreadable. So…YAY for editors!

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, suggestion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

