What We Want

He may be the nicest man I’ve ever known. He’s getting Suki ready for work tomorrow, patiently teaching her about the carrier by putting a treat inside and letting her go in after it. They’re both down on the floor and watching them makes me smile.

Moments like this…that’s what love’s about because I look at him, talking to the dog, and my heart swells with it.

“JJ…”

He glances at me, eyes bright. “She learns fast, did you see?”

I get down on the floor with them. He slides an arm around me and the dog jumps into my lap. I like this. I like it a lot, and I hope like hell nothing happens to fuck it up because this is so good, it’s what I’ve always wanted and now I have it and inevitably, I’m scared to death of losing it.

I kiss him and pet Suki. “Bed?”

He pulls me to my feet, and we head to the other room, the dog following us.

“Suki doesn’t get to watch,” I warn him.

He goes back and puts her in her carrier with a treat. “How’s that?”

I won’t lose this.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What We Want

  1. abichica says:

    I know how you feel, sometimes when we have something so good, we get scared that its to good to last a long time.. but what you need to do is not think about losing it, what you need to do is be grateful for the time you have now and enjoy it to the fullest while its there,… I love how lovely you and Jj are..:-D

Leave a Reply

