Numbers Galley Proof

JJ made me soup last night and served it to me in bed on a tray. Then he read his book while I read mine. It was a terrific, quiet evening at home, and for once, Cristian wasn’t playing reggae so loud, pictures were falling off the wall.

Late last night, I got the galley proof for Numbers. This one is being published by Dreamspinner. It’s very short, so short, in fact, I’m surprised they accepted it. But it is also one of the best, funniest stories I’ve ever written. It even makes me smile and laugh when I read it.

The proof was perfect. I sent it back with no corrections. I’ll link you when it becomes available.

Non sequitur: Once upon a time, I waitered a bit between jobs. I despised it. The general public doesn’t realize how hard wait staff work for their crap money. They literally depend on tips, because their hourly salary is so low, it’s hardly worth getting at all. And often, they don’t just smile and take your order. Back in the kitchen, they’re racing around, throwing your salad and special orders together, too. Just like anywhere else, wait staff are expected to do the job of two or three people. So the next time the person taking your order gets it wrong or seems a bit slow, give ‘em a break. Their job is far more difficult than you think. And leave a nice tip. They’ll appreciate it more than you know.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

