LJ’s Travails

All week, I’ve been fighting with LJ, willing it to work. By this morning, I was frustrated and had had enough.

Here’s some of the story behind what happened: http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,2063952,00.html  I decided to import my LJ posts to a wordpress site. As I was at work, a friend volunteered to keep watch on LJ, and the moment it became accessible, take care of this for me.

So now there is another site where you can follow me: http://theofenraven.wordpress.com/

I love LJ, but this has not been a good year for the service. This is only the latest in a string of nasty attacks, though this was by far the worst. As I paid for this account, I plan to hang on to it. For now. I will post in both places, see how that goes. Eventually, unfortunately, I may move away from LJ altogether. Stability in a blogging site is important, and LJ has had a hell of a time with that this year.

I wish them well in their endeavors to strengthen security against DDoS attacks. In a perfect world, they wouldn’t happen. As we all know, this is not a perfect world.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in internet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LJ’s Travails

  1. AJ Rose says:

    I feel bad for them, but I’m sick of not having access to the site I paid for, especially for something that has nothing to do with me. I like LJ’s interface, and many of their features aren’t found anywhere else in the blogging world, but all the awesome features in the world mean nothing if we can’t use our sites.

    I hope they can overcome this, because I’d really like to stay there. But man, it’s a lot to overcome.

Leave a Reply

